RuPaul’s Drag Race alum Sasha Velour hosts drag benefit

New York City is back and drag is leading the pack with a vengeance!

La MaMa  is proud to announce that  Sasha Velour  (RuPaul’s Drag Race season 9 winner) will host  La MaMa Love Cabaret, a benefit performance for La MaMa. The performance will take place both in-person at La MaMa’s  Ellen Stewart Theatre  and online at  on Tuesday, June 22, 2021 at 7pm ET.

The La MaMa Love Cabaret celebrates intersectional queerness at this moment of historical change. This fundraising event brings together New York’s most illustrious queer artists with performers from abroad to envision a new future: a future that is full of love.

La MaMa Love Cabaret  will feature  Jasmine Rice LaBeija, Justin Vivian Bond, The Illustrious Pearl, Pixel the Drag Jester, Sweaty Eddie, Untitled Queen  and artists from our international queer community.

The Cabaret is a live, on site benefit that will welcome a limited number of vaccinated audience members into the theatre. La MaMa will adhere to the most recent COVID-safety protocols according to the State of New York. The event will also be live streamed globally to a virtual audience. 

Streaming tickets are available beginning at $25 and limited in-person benefit tickets are available starting at $1,000. For more information and to purchase tickets, visit


La MaMa  is dedicated to the artist and all aspects of the theatre. La MaMa’s 59th Season explores how new work is created, performed and viewed using new technology and forms.  La MaMa’s vision of nurturing new artists and new work remains as strong today as it was when Ellen Stewart first opened the doors in 1961 and has presented more than 5,000 productions by 150,000 artists of all nations, cultures, races and identities. Cultural pluralism and ethnic diversity are inherent in the work created on its stages.

La MaMa has been a creative home for thousands of artists, many of whom have made lasting contributions to the arts, including Blue Man Group, Ping Chong, André De Shields, Adrienne Kennedy, Harvey Fierstein, Diane Lane, Warren Leight, Michael Mayer, Tadeusz Kantor,  Bette Midler, Meredith Monk, Peter Brook, David and Amy Sedaris, Julie Taymor, Kazuo Ohno, Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman.

BWM Staff

Our Staff Writing Team works hard to bring you great content and share news & events from the bear community and beyond.